Creative Envy


CHAIR HUNT: PART DEUX.
Sunday, November 2, 2008, 5:55 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: ,

Remember how I’ve been on the lookout for a living room chair with a specific style? Well, I’m pretty sure the furniture gods are smiling down upon my fiscal diet because today for the second time within the past 7 days, I received the perfect piece(s) free of charge!

I was doing some antique browsing in Clintonville with C and her little man. We were having lunch at the Corner Stone CafĂ© when little N started holding his breath and looking a bit red in the face. He was definitely working on something. As a result, we made a pit-stop at C’s car so we could change his pants. I was scouting for a trash can so we could dispose of the dipe but couldn’t find one so we ventured behind one of the antique shops for a dumpster and what do we find? Only about 10 chair frames in various states of disrepair, but all in the style that I have been looking for! Ahhhhh!

We went inside the shop so I could inquire about the chairs and the clerks said that they weren’t theirs and had been sitting out back forever. Mine for the taking! I love how honest people are. I’m sure drive-byers assumed they belonged to the antique shop so they went untouched. Or like C said, people probably didn’t want to bother with all the work that would need to be done to them.

I weeded through the stack and found the two that looked to be in the best shape. Granted, they need some TLC and they’re a bit more “low rider” than what I was looking for. And yeah, I really only needed one for my living room but I know I can find a use for the second one. HELLO, they were free and two could fit in my car! Done. I realize that this just adds to my neverending project list, but I couldn’t resist them. Who knew that a dirty diaper could lead to such treasures? I think N might be my new good luck charm!

By the way, I’m hopeful that part three of this story will be in 2008 and NOT in 2009 or 10.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Comment by dawn

Ohhh, I am so excited that you found a couple good ones! It was hard to tell when they were in a heap back there. Fantastic!
Had so much fun today just poking around the shops- I think I will go back this week and get those blue mason jars and maybe the little green chair, too! I don’t know why I do that, I need to buy things when I see them.

Comment by Christina

Those chairs are going to take some work, but they have such good bones. I’m sure they’ll turn out great.

Comment by Condo Blues

I’ve redone two of those kind of chairs and it looks like one needs new straps. If you need tips on where/what stuff to get, let me know because my latest chair is exactly the same and it’s really easy to do.

Comment by Christy

I HAD one of these chairs…found by a friend of mine who no longer had room for it…I sadly just gave it to another friend for the same reason. Just too much stuff in too small a space. OH, I WANT IT BACK NOW :(

Comment by Jaimee

[...] 18, 2008, 9:35 pm Filed under: projects | Tags: CB2, coffee table, DIY, Make magazine Since my chair hunt is looking pretty close to finished (pending the refinishing and cushions), I am now on a mission [...]

Pingback by COFFEE TABLE HUNT. « Creative Envy

[...] cozier and the different wood tones pull everything together. Now I just need to get going on my chairs and I will finally have a completed living room. It’s only taken two years! Definitely worth [...]

Pingback by PROGRESS. « Creative Envy

[...] Filed under: projects | Tags: cushions, refinishing chairs I made a decent amount of progress on my chairs this past weekend. Well, not a ton of progress, but seeing as how this is the first time I’ve [...]

Pingback by SLOWLY BUT SURELY. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

