Creative Envy


ON MY OWN.
Monday, September 28, 2009, 11:30 pm
Filed under: random | Tags:

I’m sort of terrified to put this in writing for the whole worldwide web to read; however, I figure if I put it here then I’m obligated to make it happen (and I swear this has much more gravitas than my to do list). Okay, deep breath.

As I wrote before, I lost my job about a month ago. In the meantime, I have been compiling my portfolio and sort of half-heartedly looking for a new full-time position. I was going through the motions you’re supposed to go through but my game face wasn’t on. My heart was not in it. Most likely because deep down I knew that I truly did not want to work for the man (or woman as it may be) anymore. At least for now, what I truly want is to be my own boss. The master of my domain, if you will. So here I go, internet. I’m going after my longtime dream of being in business for myself.

“I say who! I say when! I say…..WHO!” (Name the movie.)

440872101_02d8f171c5

Okay, probably a poor choice in movie reference but I couldn’t resist.

My new full-time job description: freelance designing, blogging, an Etsy shop, and any other creative gigs that pop up along the way. I’ve got a lot of groundwork to cover and I’ve been devouring online resources like these over the past several days. Any advice from the peanut gallery is welcome here. Drop me a comment or contact me using the link on the left to share your own self-employment stories (please, no nightmares at least at first) and I will be forever grateful.

There it is. I said it. It’s out there. I can do it, right? Right. Right?

(Photo by much ado about nothing on Flickr.)

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You KNOW how thrilled I am to see this:) You have ridiculous talent. I’m so excited to see posting on your hot new projects!!!

Comment by Lauryn Byrdy

Pretty Woman.

You can do it! I lost a job a while back and was devistated. It is true what people say, it was the best thing to happen to me.

If you like creative things, what about assisting with party hosting or entertaining? You do the decor and set up and assist the real host (some fancy rich lady who will pay you to light her candles). At holiday time, people are always looking for that sort of thing.

Have you put together your “company”, you know, what you can do and offer? Do that and then market the heck out of yourself!

Comment by Jessica

this made my morning. i’m so excited for you!

Comment by mb

Pretty Woman!

Oh my heavens, I am so excited for you, woman! Wonderful things are in store. You are so amazingly talented. I’m thrilled to hear that you’re taking this plunge!

Comment by Loretta

Of course you can do it and do it with style!

Comment by Mom

Hell yeah! GO GET ‘EM!

Comment by Mike

lady ~ I am SO excited for you :) rock it out.

Comment by Linds

This is so exciting and inspiring! I’m going to use your example to motivate myself to start moving more determinedly toward my goal to spend my 9-5 doing what I WANT to be doing to pay the bills, rather than what I HAVE to be doing to pay the bills. Can’t wait to hear about your adventures!

Comment by Paulette Beete

[...] Flickr Photos More Photos HOME OFFICE. Sunday, November 8, 2009, 8:49 pm Filed under: projects | Tags: home office, workspace This weekend I finally bit the bullet and tackled the new home office I’ve been wanting to set up in my bedroom. I had all the pieces and parts sitting in my kitchen collecting dust and I was finding I could not focus on anything until I knocked it out. It was a major speed bump in me becoming serious about going out on my own. [...]

Pingback by HOME OFFICE. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

