Creative Envy


LOCAL GEM: IGLOO LETTERPRESS.
Thursday, November 12, 2009, 10:20 pm
Filed under: craft envy | Tags: ,

Tonight I attended a letterpress class hosted at Columbus’ own Igloo Letterpress. Owner Allison Chapman walked us through her sweet shop and gave us a general overview of this amazing, old school craft. I am super envious and want to move in and make cute cards all day long. I forgot to bring my camera so excuse the pictures. They were taken with my phone.

IMG_0439

IMG_0431

I also didn’t bring my notebook to take notes so please don’t quiz me on the names of these presses. I just know that they output some lovely stuff. Allison’s background story was really charming. Her big press (that she just got working again) was her granddad’s and dates back to the 1890s. I love the history and the tradition that has been passed down from generation to generation. It makes it feel that much more homey.

IMG_0438

Thanks to Terri Price-Deep for bringing this ladies night of letterpress together. I want to go back and make more stuff. Here’s the sweet little reindeer and tree I did. I love the definition I was able to get.

IMG_3053smaller

Allison had all kinds of retro pattern blocks at our disposal. She brought out a bunch of trays filled for us to pick whatever we wanted to do.

IMG_0432

A big thank you to Allison for your patience with the large group and for teaching us a little bit about what you do everyday. Igloo has an Etsy shop here and you can follow them on Twitter here. If you’re in Columbus or the surrounding areas, keep Igloo in mind should you have any printing needs (business cards, letterhead, invitations, etc.).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Can’t wait to check this place out…loving that we have it here in Cbus.

(p.s…great write up, too — added it to our Columbus Conversation page at work: http://www.experiencecolumbus.com/blog/index.php/conversation-about-columbus/)

Comment by Rini Alvarez




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

