Creative Envy


wordle.
Monday, August 4, 2008, 5:10 am
Filed under: design envy

I know that many other bloggers have already posted about Wordle but I had to give it an honorable mention because it’s such a fun toy (i.e., procrastination tool); perfect for a case of the Monday’s.

Wordle is a toy for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text. You can tweak your clouds with different fonts, layouts, and color schemes. The images you create with Wordle are yours to use however you like. You can print them out, or save them to the Wordle gallery to share with your friends.

Here’s a wordle I created using the text from my first post:

I used Coolvetica, all caps, and the Blue Meets Orange palette

I used Coolvetica, all caps, and the Blue Meets Orange palette

I love the randomness of Wordle and the new phrases it creates by accident, such as “world fashion wrappers” and “clutter-free examples”. It reminds me of those genius movie bumpers AMC did awhile back:

Try it. Just don’t blame me if you have an extremely unproductive day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

