Creative Envy


FUN WITH PLY.
Friday, August 8, 2008, 2:50 am
Filed under: abode envy | Tags: , ,

Besides this season’s newest merchandise, I also found this idea in the latest Fossil catalog. Yeah, the totes are cool and the outfits are nice but look at that wall in the background!

Fossil catalog

This reminds me a lot of a project I did a few years ago for my friend’s bday present. I had seen it done on some HGTV show and it was super easy. This is how it turned out.

Plywood project modeled by Geoffrey the cat.

All you do is get very thin plywood from your local hardware store cut into squares (I believe these were around 13″ or so…and they’ll even cut it to size for you, at least they do at Lowe’s). For this particular installation I used one (maroon) shade of water-based stain. The variation in color is just the difference in the numbers of coats on each piece. Next, attach very strong Velcro to the backs of the squares and attach them to the wall equi-distant apart. For an extra punch, I made little shelves out of clear plexi-glass and super glued them to random pieces on which to set tea light candles. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of it lit up…it’s a great effect.

The example in the Fossil catalog is something I’d love to do in my kitchen. I assume I can do it the same way as I did the previous project, just with more colors, varying sizes of plywood, and making sure the angles are all 90 degress so they fit nicely together.

I love the combo of bright colors with natural wood.

Stay tuned. If….I mean, WHEN I do it, I will post pictures.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Use aniline dye on oak and birch 1/4″ plywood.

Comment by Your eldest bro

I may steal this for my spare room! I LOVE IT!

Comment by Bethany




Leave a Reply

