Creative Envy


I DREAM ABOUT IT.
Sunday, August 17, 2008, 9:55 pm
Filed under: abode envy | Tags: , ,

I’m in complete awe over the lovely Philadelphia abode that is home and studio to the duo of Something’s Hiding in Here. Featured in this month’s issue of ReadyMade magazine, I am dying of envy over this place. It’s so original; a virtual fantasy land that I know if I lived/worked within its walls, I would have a very hard time going outside into the real world.

Something's Hiding In Here's rental loft space

Something's Hiding In Here's rented loft space

This is the kind of home that both inspires me and makes me feel like a failure in my procrastinating nature when it comes to all the home projects of my own in need of completion. Although it makes me feel slightly better that the article says it took three years for them to build it out. Slightly better.

How great are those globes up there?

How great are those globes up there?

The couple is Shauna Alterio and Stephen Loidolt, who have been married for 9 years and have their own business, fashioning “objets d’art” that they sell at outlets and on Etsy. (He bought her this swing for Valentine’s Day, which just makes me swoon. Not only because of the sentiment but, hi, they have a porch swing inside their home!)

Alterio and Loidolt

Alterio and Loidolt

These two exemplify one of my deep rooted beliefs when it comes to your home: it doesn’t matter if you live in a rental. It’s so important to make it your own and transform it into an environment that represents your personality. Having a signed lease and a landlord has never really stopped me from painting my walls crazy colors, putting up murals, or taking it upon myself to swap out window fixtures. Most things can be taken down or painted over, so why not enjoy it while you’re there? The couple has a welcome mat that says “home sweet rental”. My sentiments exactly.

some great organizational details

some great organizational details

The article closes saying that Alterio and Loidolt anticipate feeling the itch to move. Hmmm….I HAVE always enjoyed a good Philly cheese steak.

Note: photos courtesy of Something’s Hiding In Here on Flickr.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Need two roommates? Bernie and I love Philly, we think…

Comment by Bes

that sounds fabulous! i think these pics need to make it onto my “board of dreams”. ha!

Comment by CK

[…] And if you have a few hours to waste, you should check out their Flickr photostream. I have total abode-envy for their Philly loft. […]

Pingback by BROOKLYN/RENEGADE, PART 2: CRAFT SCENE. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

