Creative Envy


PROJECT HOLGA.
Monday, September 1, 2008, 10:09 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags:

A couple years ago I bought a Holga color flash camera/starter kit. I have been slacking on really getting to see what I can do with it. I love the retro/vintage looking pictures the Holga is capable of. But in true old-school style, you don’t truly know what you’ve got until you develop the film. I’ve found that out of the few rolls I’ve shot, each one produced only 1 to 3 decent shots and here they are:

Gulf Shores, Alabama | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | back deck | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | flowers | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | flowers | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | lazy day | May, 2007

Gulf Shores, Alabama | lazy day | May, 2007

Beck yawn | September, 2006

Beck yawn | September, 2006

White flowers/trees double exposure | September, 2006

White flowers/trees double exposure | September, 2006

Trippy blue flowers | September, 2006

Trippy blue flowers | September, 2006

These aren’t too bad…but they’re not as great as I hoped they’d be. I want to produce more defined, dark, rounded edges, brighter colors, and a slightly grungier look, like these:

Saint Florent, 1998

Saint Florent, 1998

New-York, 1999

New-York, 1999

Calladroy, 1998

Calladroy, 1998

New-York, 1999

New-York, 1999

Cascais, 1998

Cascais, 1998

Coney Island, 1999

Coney Island, 1999

These are from the collection Mes Vacances Avec Holga by Frederic Lebain and they are exactly the style I want to replicate.

I’m heading to NYC this coming Friday for a trip with my mom and sister. I plan on taking my Holga with me to see if I can get some good stuff. I figure Manhattan will provide plenty of good subjects. I’ll report back when I return (and after I get my film developed).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Can’t wait to see what you get! I love the ones you’ve shot with it so far…

Comment by seibu1

film? what’s film? 🙂

Comment by Uncle Jerry

that shot of the train is sick! nice work, keep holgering 🙂

Comment by Durkin




Leave a Reply

