Creative Envy


EYE CANDY FROM KATE’S PAPERIE.
Wednesday, September 10, 2008, 10:10 pm
Filed under: design envy | Tags: , ,

Kate’s Paperie in Soho is a paper fiend’s dream store. I was actually pretty good and restrained myself while I was there last Sunday but it was tough.

Kate's Paperie, NYC

Kate's Paperie, NYC

Here’s what I picked up.

laser cut card by Charlyn Koo

laser cut card by Charlyn Koo

detail

green paper insert highlights the laser cut and the best thing is that the recipient can re-use this card...just replace the insert with whatever color you want. love that.

more detail

more detail

silkscreened card by Spruce Avenue

silkscreened card by Spruce Avenue

silkscreen detail

silkscreen detail

thank you silkscreened card by L2 Design Collective

thank you silkscreened card by L2 Design Collective

detail

detail

SMILE silkscreened card, also from L2

SMILE silkscreened card, also from L2

detail

detail

vintage ad for false teeth is screened in the background.

vintage ad for false teeth is screened in the background.

Does anyone else have a really hard time parting with cards like these after purchasing? I seriously want to hoard them all or even frame them for posterity! It’s hard to imagine a person receiving these little pieces of art and just casting them away in the trash at some point, which I suppose is inevitable (unless you’re like me and hold onto it for years and years because you might want to reference it later for creative inspiration)!

Confession: I’m guilty of saving cards of this variety only for recipients who I believe will truly appreciate them. There, I said it…now you can all evaluate the next time you get a card from me.

Links:
Charlyn Koo
Spruce Avenue
L|2

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I do it too! I have a box of saved cards that I can’t let go of, not even my Mom is worthy! HAHA! I have some scrapbook paper that I can’t use either, it’s just too cool to cut up.

Comment by Christina

I knew I wouldn’t be alone on that 😉

Comment by CK

I expect to get one of these cards now Chop. Perhaps when I secure my dream job!

Comment by bethany

omg, i do that too! or I save the last one from a box of xmas cards or whatever. what am i going to do with them? make a collage? ha!

Comment by Laura

Yuuummmmm.

Comment by Sarah




Leave a Reply

