Creative Envy


TRADING PLACES.
Saturday, September 20, 2008, 1:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Has anyone else been noticing Crate & Barrel’s recent shift to a more traditional style a la Pottery Barn? It’s frustrating me. I’ve always enjoyed C&B’s clean lines and simple fabrics but lately they’ve gone down a different road. Dare I say country-inspired? Their colors aren’t as bright and vivid and they are using prints that aren’t as modern or geometric as in the past. What’s going on? I know Pottery Barn is popular but it’s never been my cup of tea. Here are some pages from Crate & Barrel’s Fall 2008 catalog which, if I hadn’t seen its cover, I would have assumed it was from PB:

And I have noticed that Pottery Barn has been shifting slightly more towards what C&B used to be. Is this some kind of messed up trading places in the retail world? Can you tell which of the following are Pottery Barn and which are Crate & Barrel? I wouldn’t be able to if I hadn’t done it myself.

Crate & Barrel or Pottery Barn?

Crate & Barrel or Pottery Barn?

Has my perception of Crate & Barrel just been off for all these years?

1. Crate & Barrel
2. Pottery Barn
3. Pottery Barn
4. Crate & Barrel
5. Pottery Barn
6. Pottery Barn
7. Pottery Barn
8. Crate & Barrel
9. Crate & Barrel
10. Crate & Barrel
11. Pottery Barn
12. Crate & Barrel
13. Crate & Barrel
14. Pottery Barn
15. Crate & Barrel
16. Pottery Barn
17. Pottery Barn

WHAT?!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, you are totally right, now that you point it out! They’ve swapped!

Comment by Laura

I think its becuase there is CB2 now, that is the more modern line and the regular store is going by way of what is most popular, like PB. I like both but I only buy small things from each, I use their stuff as inspiration and then go do my own thing so my house doesnt look like a page out of a catalogue.

Comment by Christina

Disturbing. I gave up on PB once I moved and wanted to do a more mid-century modern look in my new place. So I was pretty happy that columbus got a C&B. Now I’m not so sure. Oh well, at least we have West Elm for in store purchases and DWR for inspiration….

Comment by Condo Blues




Leave a Reply

