Creative Envy


UNEXPECTED FINDS.
Saturday, October 4, 2008, 6:25 pm
Filed under: craft envy, projects | Tags: , , , , ,

This morning I headed up to Lucky 13 in Clintonville to get my mop cut and colored. It’s a walk-in set-up there so you never know if you’ll be able to get in right away or have some time to kill. Well, it just so happened it would be 40 minutes until they could take me so I decided to wander around the charming Clintonville shops, which = dangerous. I actually wasn’t too bad. I was on the search for that very specific chair I’ve been looking for but got a little sidetracked when I found these.

I mean isn’t it OBVIOUS that I NEED an antique typesetting drawer and three old spools?! Of course I do. They were calling my name so I had to take them home with me. So were an old brownie camera and typewriter but I stood my ground. I blame Lucky 13 for all of it.

I plan on hanging the tray up on my living room wall. I don’t think I’m going to put anything in the little compartments because I don’t want it to end up looking granny-ish or too knick-knacky. I may put one little thing in one of them…like a thimble if I can find the right one. The spools are probably just going to sit on my mantle. But I thought it would be cool to freshen them up by wrapping each of them in a bright colored yarn. They look kinda sad and naked with nothing on them, don’t you think?

I also wandered into Sobo Style and found some really cute stuff including purses by cindygert, adorable onesies by Teensy and the most hilarious thing ever for baby boys: Pee-Pee Teepees. Genius!

cindygert purse

cindygert purse

Teensy by Jamie Rapp

Teensy by Jamie Rapp

It looks like Teensy only takes phone orders (unless you purchase at Sobo). I just adore how she has her products styled/photographed on her site. It’s sophisticated yet really human at the same time. Beautifully done.

Pee-pee Teepee by beba bean

Pee-pee Teepee by beba bean

Santa teepees!!!

Santa teepees!!!

This is one of those things you see and you think “why didn’t I think of that?!” Unreal. What a great baby shower gift!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We were “this” close to buying a house on Kelso. I so wanted to live in Clintonville. I have never been to any of the places you mention. Sounds like a fantastic day. Love the drawer on the wall idea. This may be way too mainstream for you but I think it could look really cool if you find your thimble to paint the background of that one square to make it really stand out.
The pee-pee tee-pee is a handy thing, Nates almost one and I still get the firehose about once per week.

Comment by Christina

LOVE that idea, christina! i’m totally going to do that. or maybe i’ll line it with a cool patterned paper! thanks!

Comment by CK

CK,

I like your blog. Thanks for mentioning my bags here on your site. I absolutely love SoBo Style store. I was really excited to get my bags in there. And those pee pee tee pee’s are a definate “why did I not think of that?.” Especially when I have 2 boys of my own.

cindygert

Comment by cindygert

I’ve got a few of those typesetting drawers at home, too. With the actual letters and leading (incidentally: quickly learned handling those letters was dumb – quickly leads to lead poisoning).

Got it in my head that I’m going to (get gloves and) lay the letters in one of the drawers and then have it made into a glass-top coffee table.

Wall idea seems infinitely more doable.

Comment by Leigh

[…] Just doing a quick search on Etsy, I found the following vintage buttons, so there’s a lot out there to pick from. I know I could also get them at the same antique shop where I got this stuff. […]

Pingback by BODEN TOP REDEUX. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

