Creative Envy


OH HAPPY DAY. OH LOVELY.
Thursday, October 23, 2008, 7:21 pm
Filed under: craft envy, design envy, projects | Tags: , ,

I’m a big fan of Jordan’s blog Oh Happy Day. She posts some great stuff but I think her recent entries about the Dinner Party in the Middle of Nowhere take the cake. I’m so envious (of course) of not only the idea of said dinner party but check out what she came up with for the invitations. Brilliant.

First I used my typewriter and I hand typed the party information on a small strip of paper. I said lots of things like “make sure no one follows you, wear disguises if necessary, this message will self destruct in ten seconds.” Then I rolled up the strips of paper and tucked them in these cheap old little glass capsules with a cork lid. I got them at the flea market, their original use was to hold spare watch parts. I typed the attendees name on the card and affixed the capsule with twine. Then I left the invitations on the doorstep and doorbell ditched.

Even the delivery execution is priceless! I would flip if I found this on my doorstep. How inventive and charming, right? But it doesn’t end there. Check out how gorgeous this table set-up is. And it’s literally, in the middle of nowhere.

And the guests dining….

The party was set up smack dab in the middle of the Aquatic Park pier. There was the Golden Gate Bridge on one side, Alcatraz behind us, and all the lights of the city and Ghiradelli Square on the other side. We rented the linens and chiavari ballroom chairs and then I bought battery operated LED votives so we could still dine by candlelight. Keeping the food warm was tricky but we had four courses, soup we kept hot in thermoses, salad, homemade macaroni and cheese served in individual ramekins (these were baked immediately before then covered and put in a cooler.) And for dessert we had pot de creme served with thick drinking chocolate served in cappuccino cups.

(Read the entire post here.)

What baffles me is that this looks like a staged photo shoot or something but she actually made this all happen! Mad props, Jordan. Thanks for the inspiration.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

AMAZING! If only I had cool friends who would actually come to this type of thing. Egads.

Comment by bethany




Leave a Reply

