Creative Envy


COFFEE TABLE HUNT.
Tuesday, November 18, 2008, 9:35 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: , , ,

Since my chair hunt is looking pretty close to finished (pending the refinishing and cushions), I am now on a mission to find a coffee table for my living room. I really love the peekaboo clear table from CB2; however, I don’t want to spend the money on it. I realize it’s not SUPER expensive but I know I can find something for less that’s just as cool.

CB2 peekaboo coffee table

CB2 peekaboo coffee table

cb2table3

My other thought, which is vintage me, is that I can fashion something out of a selvaged piece. Here are two examples that I’m extremely envious of. This first one is made out of an old card catalog, which provides added storage space.

craft_001new

Then there’s this kick-ass table, made from an old apartment building’s bank of mailboxes. I adore this.

table102908

Another option is to just make one from scratch. Granted, I’ve never built anything before but I have it in my head that I could pull it off. I found this really cool plan on one of Make magazine’s digital editions. Perhaps I can bribe my dad or brother to help me with it when I’m home for Thanksgiving or Christmas since they have power tools and know how to build things (grunt grunt). It’s completely made of plywood and there is no hardware involved. It all connects via wood cuts and pegs.

diytable

So the new hunt is on.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just wanted to add that the CB2 Peekaboo also makes a great spit-guard for chili cook-offs. So versatile.

Comment by Kelly R

watch for banged shins and stubbed toes with the Peek-a-boo coffee table. Those invisible tables can sneak up on ya!
They always fail to mention the almost daily knocks to the head wonder woman would get from running into her “peek-a-boo” invisible jet.

Comment by Brent

[…] She uses a skinny bench as a coffee table. Hmmm….yet another idea to keep in mind for the coffee table quest. I love the look of it but also like how it doesn’t take up much space yet still serves its […]

Pingback by GREAT GIFT GUIDES AND FOOD FOR THOUGHT. « Creative Envy

[…] the biggest victory this weekend is my new coffee table! Yes, the hunt is over. I was going to get something at Ikea but I wasn’t loving anything; and I had to love […]

Pingback by PROGRESS. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

