Creative Envy


MISSION ABORTED.
Saturday, December 13, 2008, 10:10 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: , , ,

There comes a point when I start to get a little over ambitious when it comes to projects and the time frame I hold myself to in order to complete them. Case in point, these Martha Stewart crocheted snowflakes from a 2002 edition of Living that I have held onto for the past six years (wow).

ft_crsnow01_l

I have been crocheting them in my free time here and there since Thanksgiving in an attempt to make a garland for my mantel. I have 9 done and figured I could rock out another 6 or so to at least have some semblance of a chain. The crocheting has gone swimmingly. It’s tedious but relaxing. After the crocheting is done, the next step is blocking the flakes with fabric stiffener. Sounds pretty straightforward but holy crap! It took me about an hour to block three (just three!) snowflakes and my fingertips are numb from sticking the little pins into the cardboard. Not to mention the snowflakes are crooked to boot.

snowflake_1

I can't even tell you how many pins are in this one.

snowflake_3

snowlfake_21

Suffice it to say, this Christmas project is getting the kabosh. There’s only so much I can do and this one is at the bottom of the totem pole. I’ll make it a 2009 project and hopefully have a whole bunch to put up for next Christmas. I’m also already resolving in the new year to say “no” to things, but more specifically, saying no to myself. Lower the standards and finish those half-done projects before moving on to the new (more exciting) ideas.

Kind of a relief to let this one go…..

So bring on the 10 other things I need to finish before next Saturday!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

holy crap! it looks like you took all your anger out on those poor snowflakes…like a voo-doo doll! j.k.! seriously, sorry they didn’t turn out like you hoped(:

Comment by britt

Well the ones you did look great. That is a load of pins though. Good luck with the list.

Comment by Christina

These would make really cute ornaments all on their own – maybe stitched onto a bright coloured circle with a loop of ribbon up top? Then you could display them proudly without having to make more 🙂

Comment by Lupin

[…] who knits miniature sweaters using needles as thin as human hairs. Whaaaaaat? And I thought those snowflakes were […]

Pingback by CORALINE: A HAND-MADE WORLD. « Creative Envy




Leave a Reply

