Creative Envy


FIVE FAVES, VOL 12 + AN EARLY ARRIVAL.
Thursday, February 19, 2009, 11:01 pm
Filed under: five faves | Tags:

2.19.09

five-faves-12

1. Misprint Kitchen Messages from Viva Terra. I realize I was just preaching the other week about how I want an authentic, vintage metal letter C for my wall and not anything mass produced; but even though these are available in multiples, according to the site, these letters are “fashioned from rejected cans and containers.” Therefore, they are acceptable in my book.

2. In the latest issue of ReadyMade, the “I Made This!” section features a chalkboard wine rack that is genius. Sol Kawage of Italy built it using off-the-shelf drainage pipes enclosed in a fiberboard case, and coated the front with chalkboard paint.

3. I recently purchased one of Etsy seller Accessoire’s flower broaches for a dear friend’s birthday gift (not this one in particular, although I love it too). Their products are really well made, my friend loved hers, and best of all, you’re supporting independent artists.

4. Color Me Katie is on my blogroll and it should be on yours too. This girl is fun, quirky, and a complete original. She is a Brooklyn-based freelance photographer and is also involved with NYC’s Improv Everywhere group.

5. After arriving home from work, I was lugging my bags from my car kind of in a grumpy huff because it was bitterly cold and windy and I was still venting from some previous road rage. I opened my back storm door to find the most magical Amazon box I’ve ever seen (clouds parting, sun shining, angels  singing). A box I knew was just the right size for THE book I’ve been wanting for two years. Mmm-hmmm…..my parents (God love’em) read my blog and know to look on my wish list when deciding what to get me for my birthday (which is this Saturday…gulp. Aging). I bring you….my new baby: Charley Harper: An Illustrated Life by Todd Oldham.

img_1470

The timing of this couldn’t be better since I finally got my coffee table and it needed something to adorn it. It came in this adorable white and black box with more of Harper’s illustrations on it.

harper_collage

Weeeeeeeeee!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Squee! Im so excited for you after seeing the look on your face last weekend when you realized you had a coffee table for this book-
I hope you have a great weekend with your Parents. Happy Birthday!

Comment by Christina




Leave a Reply

