Creative Envy


RAVELRY + MARTHA STEWART SCARF.
Sunday, March 1, 2009, 4:51 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: , ,

One of the girls in my knitting group brought Ravelry to my attention about a month ago. It is an online community (a la Facebook) for knitters or anyone interested in fiber arts started by Jessica, Casey, and their dog, Bob. Right now it’s in the beta mode and if you’re interested in joining you have to first sign up on their waiting list to receive an invitation. Mine only took about four days. I still need to flesh out my profile with the projects I’ve done, but I’ve already used the forums when I got stuck on my project. My username is creativeenvy so friend me if you join!

Ravelry is a place for knitters, crocheters, designers, spinners, and dyers to keep track of their yarn, tools, and pattern information, and look to others for ideas and inspiration.

ravelry.com

ravelry.com

I just finished this Martha Stewart knitted neck scarf. I’m pretty pleased with it.

ms_neckscarf

I’m just excited because I finally learned how to increase and decrease stitches. I even had to incorporate some double pointed needle action. I know, I know. This sounds nerdy to some of you. I’ve been called a geek and have been asked if I was 80 years old all because I love to knit. It doesn’t really bother me. I embrace it. I embrace the fact that I love making something great that is one-of-a-kind from a little ball of yarn. I love the rhythmic noise of the knitting needles clicking together (yes, me, who can’t stand any kind of repetitive sounds…I love it). I love the conversations and bonds that form when a group of women sit in a knitting circle. I love the calming effect knitting has on me and the portability of this craft. And from the looks of Ravelry, with over 300,000 registered users to date, I realize I’m not the only one who feels this way.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love your scarf-let, but I really love the name of the knitting site. Ravelry. Brilliant.

Comment by Joel

Oh my gosh! I love it Chop. I am way into the 80’s Power Woman look with all the bows and that is perfection.

Comment by bethany

So cool! I love the color, too. You got in done just in time for yet another freezing week in Ohio.

Comment by Christina

lookin good! I knew you’d figure it out.
luv, mom

Comment by Mom




Leave a Reply

