Creative Envy


SLOWLY BUT SURELY.
Tuesday, March 24, 2009, 7:23 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: ,

I made a decent amount of progress on my chairs this past weekend. Well, not a ton of progress, but seeing as how this is the first time I’ve worked on them and I actually accomplished something, I’m calling it progress. I was able to cut all the foam down and I completed one top cushion.

Cutting down the foam. I'm still finding random pieces scattered about my apartment.

Cutting the foam down to size. I'm still finding random pieces scattered about my apartment.

An enormous thank you is owed to this post on Sew, Mama, Sew! for Autum’s step-by-step cushion instructions that have worked out amazingly. They were so easy to follow that I even made my own cording!

One cushion complete + the inspiration

One cushion complete + the inspiration

I’m pretty happy with how it came out; however, I do wish it was about a quarter of an inch shorter in width so it isn’t squeezed in on the sides, though that’s kinda minor. The inspiration for these chairs and the look of the cushions is from the Urban Outfitters chair above. I love it.

One down, four to go. Plus sanding, staining and straps. Oy! One step at a time.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

very cool. What a great idea.

Comment by rosieroyalty

[…] I’ve been so productive over the past few days with my personal projects. I sanded the chairs down (they already look 10 times better) and I got a great start on my Etsy shop (masthead designed […]

Pingback by BACK TO REALITY, PRODUCTIVITY, AND MISSED CONNECTIONS. « Creative Envy

[…] Sewing the cushions has gotten me back into the groove and I’m going to get back to my chairs today. Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this […]

Pingback by PORCH MINI MAKEOVER. « Creative Envy

Great start. I’m impressed with your get up an go! Sometimes I think my get up went!
luv, mom

Comment by Mom




Leave a Reply

