Creative Envy


HAND ME DOWN.
Friday, May 29, 2009, 5:46 pm
Filed under: random | Tags:

When I was home this past weekend my Nana asked me if I was interested in her old knitting bag since she’s not using it anymore. Yes please! This vintage straw bag was purchased on a trip she and my Papa took to the Bahamas; I would guess in the early 1960s.

bag_1

bag_2

It was filled with all kinds of goodies, including many hooks that are still in their original packaging. I think my favorite find is the little vinyl flowered bag.

contents_1

contents_2

I always love to look through old instructional books, like knitting patterns and cookbooks. Some of the imagery cracks me up. My Nana told me that this small green book entitled Learn How Book is how she taught herself to knit years ago (and was 29 cents at the time). This little guy is in fabulous condition considering its 1959 copyright date. The photos kill me.

learn how

I can’t decide which is more brilliant: the heavy “anklets” under the penny loafers or the woman vogueing in her embroidered mittens. She was way ahead of her time!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have the same “Learn How Book,” except for crochet! I enjoy reading your blog, as it’s always inspirational. Keep the good ideas coming!

Comment by keithandamanda

thanks, amanda! that’s crazy you have that book!

Comment by CK




Leave a Reply

