Creative Envy


BROOKLYN/RENEGADE, PART 1: WHAT I BOUGHT.
Tuesday, June 9, 2009, 9:07 pm
Filed under: craft envy | Tags: ,

I am back from my trek to Brooklyn and slightly overwhelmed with all the pictures I took, the fun business cards I loaded up on at Renegade, and all the shops and restaurants I experienced. Therefore, I’m going to attempt to break these posts into chunks to make it more manageable.

I’m going to start with the easiest first: what I bought. Surprisingly, I didn’t really have a lot of loot to take back with me that would have warranted the additional suitcase my hostess was more than willing to part with. I think it was because NYC has a way of making your wallet hemorrhage cash. I felt guilty dropping too much money on purchases when there was food to be eaten, transportation to be considered, and checked luggage fees (I still can’t get over that). At any rate, here’s what I picked up.

It’s no surprise to my close friends that the booth I really wanted to check out at Renegade was that of artist Dolan Geiman. I would love to own so many of his original pieces; however, my wallet only allowed (this time) for a DG mini. Still, I love it so much.

_DE10589.NEF

Next, I bought a couple of classics from Mean Cards. The merchandising of their booth was really smart and efficient. I’ll share pictures of it on my next post about Renegade. Check out their site though. They have the perfect piece of snark for every occasion.1027_elderlyOn Saturday I had come across Finch Metal’s booth and loved their child-like themed jewelry that was executed in a more sophisticated way. I couldn’t get this kite necklace out of my head so I went back on Sunday morning when they opened and snatched it up. This one knocks my current standby peacock necklace out of rotation, at least temporarily.

IMG_2000

And finally, I picked up this simple jade-beaded, knotted bracelet at one of the small boutiques in Carroll Gardens, Andie Woo.

IMG_2011

In addition, I bought a beautiful handmade bracelet by Courtney Fischer as a thank you gift for my friend who watched Beck.

IMG_2020

My upcoming posts this week will include the Renegade scene, general Brooklyn photos, and a list of good eats (I ate insanely well all weekend).

Small site update: I’ve created a Flickr account under Creative Envy which I hope to post on weekly. You can check it out here, or click on my photostream in the sidebar. Over the next week I’ll post pictures from my trip as well as older, backlogged pics that I think are relevant to the content here. Hope you enjoy them.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I got a mention! Would you like the bracelet for a pic? I may or may not be planning my whole outfit around it for tomorrow. (Note: not hoarding.)

Comment by Carey




Leave a Reply

