Creative Envy


FIVE FAVES, VOL 21.
Sunday, July 12, 2009, 8:52 pm
Filed under: five faves

I’ve been bad about posting regularly lately and REALLY bad about keeping up with my Five Faves commitment. Do you ever get that feeling that you can only focus on one major thing at a time? For the last week or so I’ve been really into getting healthy which isn’t a bad thing, but it’s consumed most of my free time. I hope to be back into a groove this week and juggle more effectively. Thanks for coming back and for your patience.

7.12.09

five faves 21

1. Awhile back, 100 Layer Cake posted this tutorial for a DIY tin can table number. This is a great idea for a wedding reception, but I think it would be cool for any occasion or just as a simple decoration in a home or out on a deck. You could just as easily punch out a cool pattern or floral design, drop in a candle, and presto change-o.

2. Anthropologie never ceases to amaze me with their surreal window displays, merchandising, and catalogs. Their July issue features hand shadows interacting with the models. This type of thing always makes me slap myself in the forehead and say “Of course they thought of that and I didn’t. OF COURSE!”

3. I stumbled upon the work of Anna Bond, aka Rifle Design, through Roadside. This lady is a true talent. I took a good hour the other day to browse through her site, her blog and her Flickr photos. Her illustrations are so whimsical and are such a refreshing change for the traditional wedding invitation. I would totally hire her. You know, if I was getting hitched. It looks like she will be opening a shop soon too so stay tuned.

4. The new CB2 catalog arrived in my mailbox last week (dangerous). I think I need to buy this botella decanter and funnel, you know, for all the dinner parties I host (snicker). It’s a steal at $15 and I love the design. Who knows, perhaps this purchase would inspire me to host more often. Just have to work on seating for more than 2 people.

5. This screen shot does not do this site justice. I don’t remember where I found it (I know it was via Twitter) and I don’t really understand what it’s for, but just go there, wait for it to load, and then PLAY. Make sure your speakers are on.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love, love, LOVE the wedding invitations. So adorable! I swear, I look and look for this kind of stuff and never find it. That’s why I love yoru site Chop! Can’t wait for Cat!

Comment by bethany

#5 was awesome… I just starred at the screen with a grin on my face for the first few minutes, totally content thinking this was really neat– then wondered why my mouse was in the middle of the screen then….. well you know, very cool.

Comment by Brent




Leave a Reply

