Creative Envy


SLACKER + FIVE FAVES, VOL 22.
Thursday, August 13, 2009, 11:23 pm
Filed under: five faves, random

So not only have I not posted one time this month, I completely missed my one year anniversary on the third! Oops! Happy birthday? Hoot and holler? Man, this is horrible. I should have done some extraordinary topical entry about what I’ve learned over the last year and how grateful I am for those of you who continue to check out my little corner of the interwebs, but instead here is my slap-dash, put together wee post.

I was inspired tonight because I just got home from seeing Julie & Julia and watching the scrolling type on Amy Adams’ computer screen had me jonesing to get home and post something again. I have had this entire week off. A stay-cation, if you will, to get some things done around my place (ahem, catching up on blogging is still not crossed off the list…shocking). So there you have it. I can’t even use “no time” as an excuse anymore!

Enough whining. I give you my latest favorites because, after all, it is Thursday night.

8.13.09

five faves 22

1. Dina Goldstein’s Fallen Princesses photo series for JPG Magazine is pretty brilliant. “These works place Fairy Tale characters in modern day scenarios. In all of the images the Princess is placed in an environment that articulates her conflict. The ‘…happily ever after’ is replaced with a realistic outcome and addresses current issues.” (via How About Orange)

2. I had been waiting for months to go see (500) Days of Summer and it definitely delivered. Zooey Deschanel is one of my favorite people, both in acting and singing, so I figured I would be smitten with this movie. It’s smart, charming, heartwarming (and breaking at the same time), witty and creative. I have the soundtrack basically on repeat in my car. I can’t get enough of it and every time Hall & Oates comes on, I remember that scene in the movie and I want to break out into spontaneous song and dance. When Sweet Disposition comes on, my heart jumps out of my chest. Go see it.

3. Going hand in hand with going to see movies, comes RunPee.com (and the mobile application for your iPhone). RunPee tells you when it’s “safe” to go to the restroom during a movie’s duller moments and let’s you know what you missed while you were gone. For example, for tonight’s Julie & Julia movie, I had four opportunities, four minutes allotted for each one. I did use one of them and it worked out perfectly! I didn’t miss any crucial info. It will give you either situational or verbal cues so you know when you need to run (and pee).

4. This week I took two days to do a thorough clean sweep of my place, purging items I haven’t touched in the last year. This meant tackling my clothes closet, which meant trying on endless articles of clothing to see if they still fit or if I liked them on me anymore. Basically, I ended up shopping in my own closet. I uncovered so many forgotten gems and I have put a self-imposed halt on any new wardrobe acquisitions for the foreseeable future. In fact, I want to challenge myself to not wear the same top for the next 30 days since I’m pretty positive I could pull it off.

5. Toronto’s the workroom is equipped with everything a crafter or sewer might need to get their project done, and it’s all available for their use for an hourly fee. I think this is an amazing resource that would be unbelievably valuable to most cities. Even though I have a lot of supplies, it’s always such a pain to haul them out and put them away with each project I tackle. I would love to have a space where I could spread out and work more efficiently (and most likely on higher quality sewing machines than what I have). The workroom offers independent studio time, classes, fabric for purchase, and serves as a venue for various crafty events. (via Uppercase)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

