Creative Envy


HOME OFFICE.
Sunday, November 8, 2009, 8:49 pm
Filed under: projects | Tags: ,

This weekend I finally bit the bullet and tackled the new home office I’ve been wanting to set up in my bedroom. I had all the pieces and parts sitting in my kitchen collecting dust and I was finding I could not focus on anything until I knocked it out. It was a major speed bump in me becoming serious about going out on my own.

Using some old salvaged wood (compliments of my dad) as a counter top (woodwork and assembly advice compliments of my brother) plus two storage cabinets on sale at Target ($19.99 each) I was able to streamline my work space on a budget. I’m pretty pleased with how it came out. All I need is a keyboard tray to attach to the underside.

IMG_3000

Because the counter top is much shallower than my old beast of a desk, it makes my small bedroom look much bigger.

IMG_3004

Yes, I realize that Beck’s bed is not tres chic. And it’s enormous. But he’s my co-pilot so he gets his own corner (although I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to have carpet squares leading up to it for him to even consider hanging out there).

IMG_2983

Dear Container Store:
Please stop selling such cute storage solutions at ridiculously inflated prices. I am a sucker and cannot resist. Thanks!

IMG_2996

It’s great to have the extra surface area and to hide a ton of stuff that used to be on open shelving (which translated to way too much dusting of little odds and ends). It feels good to check another thing off the list and finally have a space that is both functional and inspiring.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am with you, sister, on the Container Store. It’s so hard to say no when what you find there is just right. I grumble about the prices, but my debit card comes out of my wallet anyway.

The space looks great!

Comment by Joel

Wow!! Looks amazing!

Comment by Mike Beaumont

I just love when people share their work space…it’s so great to see how other organize their lives! Very nice job!!

Comment by Lisa

Nice space!

Comment by Shanin Brooks




Leave a Reply

