Creative Envy


FIVE FAVES, VOL 25: TINY CANARY EDITION.
Monday, November 16, 2009, 11:46 pm
Filed under: five faves | Tags: ,

Last Saturday Christina and I were numbers 97 & 98 in line at Columbus’ annual indie design market, Tiny Canary. (I only know that because the two people behind us got the last two goodie bags.) This was my third year going and, per usual, I was not disappointed. Unfortunately, I’m on a budget these days so I couldn’t go as crazy as my first time. I only spent $10 on three cards. I know, that’s a sad statement. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t have some favorite vendors. Everyone there was so great and brought something unique to the table, but these are the ones that really stood out to me.

11.16.09

1. Cleveland-based Oddball Press specializes in old-school aesthetic, quick-witted, letterpressed cards. This is where I spent my whopping $10 on Saturday. I love their classic illustrations combined with sarcastic sentiments.

2. I’m pretty sure Red Raven Studios was new to TC this year (correct me if I’m wrong) because I think I’d remember these darling little works of art. Amy hails from Pittsburgh and specializes in jewelry (and BUTTONS!) made from porcelain. She details each piece with decals that are reminiscent of antique china patterns. So sweet.

3. Anne Holman is one of the co-organizers of Tiny Canary but also runs her own jewelry-making business. Her work is gorgeous and my beloved peacock necklace (a staple in my everyday accessorizing) was purchased at my first TC. I have to say, I was really coveting the necklace Anne was wearing that morning . I can only assume she made that one too. Beautiful.

4. Girl/Boy Coalition had some really clever screen printed shirts for sale. Among them was a bike wheel with “Columbus” over top as well as this one featured above. Very whimsical and clever, their sales pitch was equally entertaining (the boy of Girl/Boy Coalition was super witty and quick with a comeback). Thoroughly enjoyable.

5. When it comes to concert posters, I’m not sure anyone comes close to touching the illustrative style and talent of Columbus artist Clinton Reno. This guy is truly spectacular. I haven’t exactly figured out where I could put all of his show posters (I’m in desperate need of a basement music room apparently), but I love to admire them whenever I’m at a show like TC. True talent there that brings me great inspiration. So thanks.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I believe that Christy Haynes is friends with Mr. Reno (if I’m thinking of the right guy). You should ask her about him. A really talented dude.

Comment by Joel

Yep, she is.

Comment by CK




Leave a Reply

