Creative Envy


FIVE FAVES, VOL 26: CHRISTMAS WISH LIST EDITION.
Thursday, December 3, 2009, 11:56 pm
Filed under: five faves | Tags: ,

12.3.09

1. I am a sucker for a good bag, but normally I go for very graphic ones. Bags that are bright, patterned, and unique. I’ve decided that it’s high time I get a ‘big girl’ purse. Not that I don’t still love all my quirky satchels, I do. But I love this one by Fossil. I “tried it on” in the store and it’s a great shape, size and fits under my arm nicely. It’s also got that pattern flair…but on the inside.

2. Yeah, yeah, I already have an iPhone. But I call it the dinosaur of iPhones because it’s a first generation. And anyone who is familiar with Apple stuff, everything gets outdated pretty much within 6 months after buying it. It’s super annoying but I have accepted that’s how they roll. Needless to say, I am still on The Edge network and it is like being on an old school dial up modem if I want to look something up online and there’s no Wi-Fi to access. My contract is up for renewal so I can get a “deal” on one of the newer models. My friend said I should wait till next summer for the next generation. If you know me, you know patience is not one of my qualities. Therefore, I’d love to have one of these iPhone gift cards that Apple is pushing to upgrade.

3. Stocking stuffer! I was recently at my friend’s house in Cleveland and she had this Mentha hand soap by C.O. Bigelow. I have tried the uber tingly Mentha chapstick (whew, that’s strong) but had never seen the hand soap (that store is dangerous for me so I stay away). It smells great and is very refreshing on your hands.

4. This one is already happening, I just need to pull the trigger on my renewal. I have posted before about Uppercase Magazine, but it is truly one of the best magazines to come into my life. It’s like Janine Vangool personally came knocking on my door and said, “Carrie, what would YOU like to see in a magazine?” and then just delivered it to my doorstep every three months. Thanks for starting this, Janine!

5. I am on the hunt for a proper winter coat. Not necessarily this one (I just picked it because of its pretty silhouette and have no clue if it’s even warm). The problem is, I have some requirements that make it all but impossible. Here’s what I want: interesting silhouette (see above), made out of a material that won’t easily pill or attract every fuzzball within a 10-foot radius, able to pass for dressy or casual, unique in color or pattern but still go with everything, flattering, affordable and SUPER WARM. Oh, is that all? Yep.

BECK’S WISH LIST.

I’m pretty sure he’d be happy with: a few stuffed animals he can destroy, helping me tear the paper off my presents, a peanut butter-filled bone, wall-to-wall carpeting, and my promise that I’ll never touch his front paws ever again. But I’m imposing my own wish for him because his green collar is looking ratty. The little man needs a new one that suits him and I think this is a good choice, made by PB&J’s World on Etsy.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Re: iPhone, I can’t wait ’til summer either. I’m getting the 3GS this weekend. I’m somewhat relieved there are people as impatient as I am on these matters.

Here’s how I convince myself it’s ok: you know Apple’s “next generation” of anything can tend to be a a tad wonky at first. If the next release is whiz-bang-holy-smokes-totally-different, let ’em work out the bugs before you get it 😉

Oh, my ability to justify anything…

Comment by Rini

I like your style. Thanks for pleading my case!

Comment by CK

Thanks for including our magazine in your list! I really appreciate the mention. Happy holidays to you and your readers.

Comment by Janine

If you find said coat, let me know…I am also in the market for a winter coat and was amused to see we have the same requirements. I’m finding it to be nearly impossible to find a coat I could wear to a wedding and also throw on over my casual duds without looking ridiculous. Plus, I love outerwear and accessories that will go with everything (the very reason I splurge on a good purse)! But, a flattering coat that is basically a one-piece-wonder AND affordable? Haven’t found it yet, but I’m still looking! Actually, I’m looking for the same thing in a fall/spring variety as well. Can ANYONE offer some help?!

Comment by Devon




Leave a Reply

